Laurel WPO review

laurel

In february Sonaturalbeauty started to carry Laural Whole Plant Organics. I don’t think Laurel was available in Europe before so I was super excited about this launch. I had heard lots of great things about this brand and it is no secret Sonatural Beauty (a Belgian webshop) is one of my favorite places to shop. So after a week of hesitating which products to go for, I finally decided and placed quite a big and exciting order. 

Laurel
Source: Laurel WPO

About the brand

Laurel is a plant, flower and herb based facial care line. The great thing about Laurels products is that they source directly from their farmers and that they use whole plant extractions. Because of this Vit C, Vit E, peptides, proteins, enzymes,… are present and active in all of Laurel’s formulas (they are found within the plants themselves). Laurel also promises to never use parabens, synthetic fragrances, endocrine disruptors, carcinogens, GMOs, non-organically grown plants, or any toxic chemical of any kind. Something I find extremely important is that all products cruelty free and most products are vegan (except the balms, cleansers and Honey Berry mask which all contain beeswax).

First impressions

I must admit it wasn’t love at first sight… Opening up the bottles dissapointed me in terms of scent. Maybe I expected something like May Lindstrom’s Blue Cocoon or The Honey Mud which scents takes me to another world. With Laurel, this wasn’t the case. I’m not saying the products smell bad, not at all, but you can really smell the purity of the ingredients and they can remind me of some foods we use in our kitchen (like cayenne peper, almonds,…). A friend of mine said ‘Laurel is not about the scent, it’s about the results‘, and she was so damn right about that! Upon first application I could feel the love that was poored into each single bottle and my skin reacted very well to these new products. The oils and butters are so pure and feel so silky, very different from the things I’ve used before. Most of the time, oils stay on top of my skin and take a long time to sink in. With Laurel, this is not the case, my skin just drinks it all up within a few minutes.

The products

Facial serum Anti-inflammatory

IMG_8163

The Anti-Inflammatory facial serum is an ideal moisturizer for sensitive skin, cystic acne, and rosacea, as well as all skin types suffering from any signs of inflammation. As I was suffering from inflamed, red and irritated skin at the time I placed my order, it was obvious which serum to go for.

I usually apply 4 drops on damp skin. This serum feels very silky and when applied on damp skin, it sinks in right away. After 5 minutes there is no oily residue and I can slowly see the redness on my cheeks fade away. Because the serum sinks in so fast, I sometimes have the feeling it’s not hydrating enough. That’s why I love to apply the Face balm Transform Daily on top and concentrate this on my cheeks where I tend to have dry patches. This combination works really well for me as I have the extra moisture on my cheeks but at the same time it’s not too oily on my forehead and nose.

Using this serum for a few weeks has really calmed down the redness on my cheeks and my skin is more balanced. Because I have combination skin it is very hard to find a serum that works and that doesn’t make my skin look and feel too oily. I’ve really been enjoying using it and I think this serum will be especially great in the summer when my skin tends to be a little more oily and less dry on my cheeks.

Ingredients: Jojoba Oil, Borage Oil, Rosehip Seed Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Olive Oil, Almond Oil, Red Raspberry Seed Oil, Pomegranate Seed Oil, Cranberry Seed Oil, Tamanu Oil, Sea Buckthorn Oil, Rosemary Extract; in-house biodynamic proprietary blend of Chamomile, Licorice, Marshmallow, Baical Skullcap, Calendula, Lavender, Nettle, Gotu Kola, Astragalus, Comfrey; essential oil blend of Helichrysum, Myrrh, Lemon Balm, Neroli, Blue Chamomile

30 ml – €75 (black glass bottle with a dropper)

Facial Balm Transform Daily

balm

I had heard so much raving reviews about this product and it’s obvious to see why. While I’m not in love with the scent of this balm, the texture is heavenly and oh so soft and silky. You know I love my May Lindstrom’s Blue Cocoon but the texture of this balm is way better. The ML balm needs some warming up before you can apply it to the skin and on me, the balm stays oily on the skin for quite some time. The Laurel balm on the other hand feels very silky, almost like a cream and you can apply it straight to the skin without warming it up or massaging it in. There is no other balm I can compare it to as the texture is unlike anything I have ever tried before. It’s less oily then the Blue Cocoon, creamier than the Mahalo Balm and way more silky than the Mahalo Rare Indigo.

Another great thing about this balm is the bright yellow color. This really indicates the purity of the ingredients and shows that there are a lot of antioxidants in the formula. Think about your food, the food with the most color (kale, carrots, acai,…) contain the most precious antioxidants. This balm also contains plants that have been linked to sun protection such as Red Raspberry Seed, Cranberry Seed, Carrot Seed, and Jojoba. These have SPFs from 6-50.

I love to apply this balm on top of the Anti-inflammatory serum and apply a bit extra to the cheeks and around my nose. As the balm sinks in straight away, I also apply a bit more just before I go to bed so that I’m sure my skin is extra nourished. And still then, after 3 layers of oils and butters there is no oily residue!This is something I have never been able to say with any other balm of facial oil!

After only a few weeks of using it, I can say my skin is radiant, calmed down and very well moisturized. If you’re thinking of getting some Laurel products, this balm is the one thing I think you really need in your life as it really is liquid gold!

Ingredients: Jojoba Oil, Shea Butter, Rosehip Seed Oil, Red Raspberry Seed Oil, Borage Seed Oil, Cranberry Seed Oil, Almond Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Sesame Oil, Beeswax, Sea Buckthorn Oil, Rosemary Extract; in-house biodynamic proprietary blend of Gotu Kola, Calendula, Comfrey, Nettle, Chamomile, Licorice, Red Cloves, Lemon Balm, Astragalus, Yarrow, Elderflower, Horsetail; essential oils of Sandalwood, Neroli, Carrot Seed, Lemon Balm

30 ml – €85

Blemish treatment

blemish treatment

Although I don’t have any acné or spots on my face, I do suffer from breakouts on my chest and neck. This is something I have been struggling with for years and I haven’t been able to find a solution for it yet.

When I saw this recently launched blemisch treatment I must say I was intruiged. There are only 7 active ingredients in it which is I guess the reason why I was so curious to try it out. Another reason why this caught my eye was because it contains Blue Chamomile which my skin really loves and it immediately calms down any redness. This treatment also contains Black Cumin Seed oil, Tamanu Oil, Thyme, Helichrysum, … and some other highly effective ingredients. All plants were carefully chosen to address inflammation, create a healthy flora/microbe balance, and prevent scarring.

This product came just in time as I had u huge spot on my neck. I know it’s gross but as you’re reading this review you do want me to be honest with you, right? So this was the perfect moment to try this product out and see if it really did what it was supposed to do. So normally when I have a blemish or spot, it stays there for almost two weeks before it starts to fade and then I’m left with a mark that takes another week or so to heal. After applying this treatment (I prefer to apply one drop before I go to bed) I really noticed the blemish had calmed down and was smaller in the morning. After about 5 days the blemish had dissapeared and there was no mark like I usually have. I also used it on some marks I had on my face from previous breakouts and after two days they had also faded away.

10 ml – €72  (black glass bottle with a dropper)

Facial mask Gentle

IMG_8164

Finding a good face mask is something I really seem to struggle with. They’re eather to drying, irritating of they just don’t seem to do anything for my skin. This mask looked very promissing as it’s a clay mask which is supposed to be gentle enough for sensitive skin gals like me. Like most Laurel masks, this mask is a dry powder to maintain its pure and fresh ingredients.

This mask contains Pink Clay which is great for cleansing and restoring the skin. Then there is Pomegranate and Rosehip added which are super rich in antioxidants. Marshmallow, Licorice, Tamanu and Yarrow soothe the skin and reduce inflammation. Essential oils of Neroli, Helichrysum, Blue Tansy, Palmarosa, and Sandalwood are included in this formula, and are truly miraculous for skin repair. Especially the Blue Tansy is an essential oil I truly adore. It’s also the main ingredient in the ML Blue Cocoon and I know my skin really calms down when using it.

The first time I used this mask I didn’t like it as it turned my skin quite red and inflamed. BUT this was my own fault as I didn’t read the instructions well… You’re supposed to keep this mask moist with a toner or some water to prevent the mask from drying out your skin and to keep the enzymes alive. Doing it right the second time (I spritzed my face with silver hydrosol), the results were much better! My skin was purified but also nourished and calmed down at the same time. This is the first clay mask I like and where I see results on my skin. When my skin is feeling a little dryer I like to mix the powder with some Manuka honey which works just as well.

Ingredients: Marshmallow Root, French Pink Clay, Oat Straw, Baical Skullcap Root, Licorice Root, Marshmallow Leaf, Yarrow Flower, Plantain Leaf, Rosehips, Slippery Elm, Skullcap Flower, Hawthorne Berry, Tamanu Oil, Pomegranate Oil; Essential Oils of Neroli, Blue Tansy, Palmarosa, Sandalwood and Helichrysum

50 ml – €54

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

