Best of: 2016 beauty discoveries

First of all I wish you the happiest New Year! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your support in 2016 and for your lovely comments, that really means a lot to me!

2016 was a great year for me regarding beauty discoveries. I tried a lot of new brands that stole my heart away and I’m so excited to share those with you! I will do things a bit different as I already wrote about my seasonal favorites every 3 months. Therefore I will just talk you through brands that stole my heart away and some other discoveries regarding ‘green beauty’.

Brand discoveries

Mahalo – a piece of Hawaii at home

mahaloJust before the previous New Year, I ordered the Mahalo discovery set (click here for the review) which immediately blew me away! I loved every single product in the kit and repurchased my favorites in fullsize. The Petal mask and Rare Indigo balm were the two products that really took my breath away, they’re just beyond amazing! Mahalo’s scents are dreamy, floral and just take my mind straight to Hawaii. The textures are also innovative and I love that fact that one products works for almost all skintypes. This is my absolute favorite discovery of 2016!

Rachel’s plan bee – summer in a bottle

It was last summer when I decided to enter a giveaway hosted by Rachel Plan Bee, a brand Irachel_s_plan_bee_body_oil_website_large had heard of but never really took a close look at. It was to my surprise to see I had won the famous body oil and I couldn’t be happier! The scent and feel of this oil are so dreamy, it makes me smell like a sweet little cupcake. You may or may not know that I have a thing for sweet scents so I couldn’t help myself but to order more Rachel’s Plan Bee products. I also have the body scrub which is really effective and smells just as incredible as the body oil. It also leaves the skin feeling a bit oily which is a big bonus. More trials will happen in 2017 for sure!

Laurel – my ‘good old trusty friend’

screenshot080

I like to refer to this brand as ‘Good old trusty Laurel‘ because it feels like I’ve been using this brand since forever even though that is not the case. It is the brand I reach for when I don’t know what to use because I can always trust in the efficiency of the products. They just work, every single product of the brand. My favorites are the anti-inflammatory serum, the Transform daily balm (heaven!), the blemish treatment, the facial elixirs, … and the list is never ending. Trust me on this, you need to get yourself some Laurel!

Siam Seas – the power of rare herbs and oils

Thailand is a place close to my heart and so is this beautiful brand, imported all screenshot078the way from sunny Thailand. These products are very different from other ones I use, different in texture and in scent. Maybe it’s because of the rare herbs and extracts that they use but my skin really seems to love them. The Twilight BeCalm skin serum is everything I ever wanted, it creates a wonderful glow, sinks in fast (serum-in-oil formule)and heals up acne. The Mangosteen Facial scrub is also super effective and doubles as a foaming cleanser, truly great during summer. The Head-to-toe mask is also incredible and suited for all skin concerns depending on what you mix the powder with (honey, rice water, water,…). Siam Seas is a brand that brings sunshine into our homes. This brand is available in Europe at Divine Green Beauty, a new green beauty store that was also an amazing discovery in 2016.

Evolve Beauty – simplicity can be magical

screenshot081

It was during a swap with a dear friend that I discovered Evolve Beauty, a UK based brand that uses natural ingredients. The products have a very good price and that makes it all even more fun, especially when the products are outstanding in quality. My absolute favorite product is the Radiant Glow Mask, a cacao mask that smells like you fell into a chocolate bowl with coconut flakes on top. Their shampoo is also extremely good and replaced my beloved Rahua shampoo (that is one is a tough one to beat!). It’s a pleasure to announce that this brand is now available at Sonaturalbeauty 

Shop discoveries

Divine Green Beauty

screenshot083

It was back in oktober when Divine Green Beauty opened and I can’t even tell you excited I was! The shop is based in France and they sell the most divine brands , some of which are not available anywhere else in Europe. I’m talking about Siam Seas, Okoko cosmetiques, Butter Babes, Wabisabi, La Belle Lune, Lilfox Miami, … I started with a selection of Siam Seas and Okoko as those brands were new to me. Not one product has disappointed me and I will place many more orders here!

Beauty heroes

PrintAfter seeing all those beautiful Herograms on instagram, I couldn’t take it anymore and decided to finally subscribe to Beauty heroes. BG is a subscription service that costs me around €54 a month (shipping included) and the value of the box is at least $60 so I never pay more than the value.
So far I’m really enjoying the box, I received the Mun Akwi cleanser and Maya Chia Super couple oil. Both are amazing discoveries and I can’t wait to see what other surpsises BH has planned for us.

One Comment Add yours

  1. that Evolve mask made my list too it’s lovely!

Leave a Reply

