Beauty & me

Today I wanted to tell you a little bit more about myself, the reason why I do what I do and and why I’m so passionate about skincare, makeup and especially selfcare.

At the age of 1, I was diagnosed with Neuromuscular Disease. This means that my muscles are getting weaker each day and I’m not able to do the ‘usual’ things like walking, lifting things, holding my arms high,… I need a lot of help with basically everything that I do from eather my parents or a nurse. It’s not easy but I work with what I have got. I can talk, move, feel, don’t have pain,… and those are things to be grateful for! I try to do as much as possible on my own and don’t accept help for the things that I CAN do. Being able to do my own makeup and skincare is a good example for that. It’s my way to show that I’m a strong woman and that I’m proud of who I am. It’s also the only ‘me-time’ I get and it has become a very important part of my life. It takes my mind away for a second and makes me feel better, makes me love who I am even though that can be difficult at times.

Blogging life

Because of my disability, I’m not able to work fulltime and spend most of the time at home. One day a week I work as a marketeer and I absolutely love my job! Not only do I have the kindest colleagues, my job is also like a hobby to me, a way to be creative and express myself. But the days when I’m not at work, it can be very boring and yes even hard at times. That’s when about two years ago I decided to share my passion for skincare by creating my own blog ‘mienelien(able)’. Don’t ask me where that name comes from, I regret my name decision already, but at least it’s original right? I’m not the best writer since English is not my native language and I’m not great at making pictures but…I just really enjoy the blogging life and the people I’ve met because of it. Especially on Instagram, there is so much support and so much kindness spread around in the ‘green beauty community’, I warms my heart everyday!

I also see my blog as a way to discover new brands and product, learn more about their ingredients and most of all learn from other people with the same passion.

Dreaming big

I don’t see my disability as a bad thing, I see it more as an ability to do other things. Things I probably wouldn’t have done if I could have a regular job and life. My biggest dream is to start my own online shop where I’d offer the best natural skincare with all of you. That won’t be an easy dream to fulfill but you know whay they say “the hardest roads often lead to the most beautiful destinations”.

“The journey isn’t meant to be easy
But with a dose of
Courage
Love
Support
and Determination…
You shall fulfil your dreams!”

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Thankyou for sharing your story.
    I think it is fantastic you have found this outlet!
    I think your English is great too xx

  2. Beauty is always so much more than beauty. You have a great spirit.

  3. Thank you for sharing! I love your optimism and strong attitude! Wishing you to open your online-store and make it successful!

    1. Thank you so much!! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

